WIPO Arbitration and Mediation
Center
ADMINISTRATIVE PANEL DECISION
Under the ICANN Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy
Amsec Enterprises, L.C. v. Sharon McCall
Case No. D2001-0083
1. The Parties
Complainant is Amsec Enterprises, L.C., a Virginia Corporation located
in Winchester, Virginia, USA.
Respondent is Sharon McCall, an individual located in Tarpon Springs,
Florida, USA.
2. The Domain Name and Registrar
The domain name at issue is <backgroundfacts.com> (the “Domain
Name”).
The registrar is Network Solutions, Inc., in Herndon, Virginia, USA.
3. Procedural History
This action was brought in accordance with the ICANN Uniform Domain
Name Dispute Resolution Policy, dated October 24, 1999 (“the Policy”) and
the ICANN Rules for Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy, dated
October 24, 1999 (“the Rules”).
Complainant submitted its Complaint in this proceeding on January 16,
2001. Respondent submitted a Response on February 15, 2001.
WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center appointed Mark V.B. Partridge
as panelist on March 20, 2001.
4. Factual Background
Complainant is a consultant regarding employee hiring decisions and
a provider of pre-employment screening services. The company, through
its predecessor in interest, has provided those services under the mark
AMERICAN BACKGROUND since 1992.
The mark is the subject of pending applications for federal trademark
registration filed on March 16, 1999. Complainant uses those marks
on a web site located at <americanbackground.com>. Since 1998,
Complainant's sales in connection with the mark have exceeded $7 million
dollars.
Respondent and her husband have been in the employee benefits administration
field since 1975. Respondent registered the Domain Name on June 22, 1999,
and with her husband started a business named American Background Searches,
Inc. in
January 2000. Respondent has approximately 500 clients and the
web site receives approximately 200 visitors a day. Respondent states
that she registered the Domain Name because it is a common term with important
meaning in the pre-employment background screening services business industry.
5. Parties’ Contentions
Complainant contends that the Respondent's use of the Domain Name in
connection with the company name American Background Searches, Inc. creates
confusion with Complainant and its AMERICAN BACKGROUND mark. Complainant
contends that the common component "background" in the Domain Name is confusingly
similar to its mark. Complainant contends that Respondent's conduct
is not legitimate and constitutes bad faith as a deliberate attempt to
attract Internet users looking for Complainant's identical services.
Respondent denies Complainant's claims and asserts that Complainant
lacks enforceable rights in AMERICAN BACKGROUND, that the Domain Name and
trademark are not confusingly similar, that she makes bona fide use of
the Domain Name and that she registered and used the domain name in good
faith.
Respondent further contends that Complainant has willfully misrepresented
its rights to the Panel and is seeking to engage in reverse domain name
hijacking.
6. Discussion
A. Application of the Policy
To obtain relief under the ICANN Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution
Policy, Paragraph 4(a) of the Policy requires the complainant to prove
each of the following:
(i) that the domain name registered by the respondent is identical
or confusingly similar to a trademark or service mark in which the complainant
has rights; and
(ii) that the respondent has no rights or legitimate interests
in the domain name; and
(iii) that the domain name has been registered and used in bad faith.
Based on the record presented, it appears that Complainant's principal
objection involves Respondent's use of the trade name American Background
Services, Inc., not the Domain Name <backgroundfacts.com>. The
scope of this proceeding is limited to the Domain Name, and any claim against
the trade name is not properly presented here. For the reasons discussed
below, the claim against the Domain Name is denied.
The mark AMERICAN BACKGROUND is obviously descriptive of Complainant's
services. Therefore, to establish common law rights, Complainant
must prove secondary meaning. Relevant evidence of secondary meaning
includes length and amount of sales under the mark, the nature and extent
of advertising, consumer surveys and media recognition. Here,
the only evidence presented is the bald claim that the mark has been used
since 1992, and that Complainant’s gross sales have exceeded $7 million.
The only evidence of the nature and manner of use is a web page dated January
11, 2001. Given the extremely weak character of Complainant's mark,
I find that the evidence of secondary meaning is inadequate to prove any
enforceable rights in the mark.
Similarly, Complainant's pending applications do not establish any enforceable
rights until registration issues. Respondent contends that Complainant
has misrepresented the nature of those applications by failing to disclose
that both applications have been refused on various grounds, including
a finding by the Examiner that the marks are merely descriptive.
The status of these applications is a material fact to this proceeding,
and Complainant's reliance on these applications to claim rights without
disclosing the adverse actions issued by the Examiner is troubling, to
say the least, and casts doubt on the other contentions made by Complainant.
Based on the record presented, I find that Complainant has failed to
prove enforceable rights in the mark AMERICAN BACKGROUND.
Even if Complainant had established such rights, however, Complainant
still has failed to prove that the Domain Name is confusingly similar to
its mark. As noted above, AMERICAN BACKGROUND is highly descriptive
of Complainant's background services. As such, it is deemed a weak
mark and absent proof of fame or widespread recognition, it would be entitled
to narrow protection at best. Generally, the scope of rights afforded
to weak descriptive marks is limited to protection against identical marks.
Here, the Domain Name and alleged trademark are not identical. The
only similarity is the word "background", which appears to be generic of
the parties' services of providing background searches.
For these reasons, I find that Complainant has failed to satisfy the
requirements of Paragraph 4(a)(i) of the Policy. Because this is
an essential element of the claim, it is not necessary to resolve the remaining
factual disputes on the other elements. See Pet Warehouse v. Pets.com,
Inc., Case No. D2000-0105 (WIPO April 13, 2000)(panel need not consider
elements of legitimate interests or bad faith if Complainant fails to establish
enforceable rights in mark).
B. Reverse Domain Name Hijacking
Paragraph 15(e) of the Rules states, in relevant part:
"If the Panel concludes that the dispute is not within the scope of
Paragraph 4(a) of the Policy, it shall so state. If after considering
the submissions the Panel finds that the complaint was brought in bad faith,
for example in an attempt at Reverse Domain Name Hijacking or was brought
primarily to harass the domain-name holder, the Panel shall declare in
its decision that the complaint was brought in bad faith and constitutes
an abuse of the administrative proceeding."
Respondent asks for a finding of bad faith under this provision.
In support of that request, Respondent cites the Complainant's failure
to fully disclose the status of its applications and the obvious dissimilarity
of the Domain Name to the alleged mark.
On the record before me, I agree that Complainant withheld material
facts affecting the validity of its rights and question whether Complainant
actually believed it had a valid claim against the Domain Name. Nevertheless,
I recognize that the Trademark Office actions are not conclusive evidence
that Complainant had no rights in its alleged mark. Although there
has been a failure of proof, Complainant appears to have a colorable claim
of rights in the mark AMERICAN BACKGROUND based on use. Therefore,
I am unable to conclude with certainty that its objection to Respondent's
Domain Name was made in bad faith.
7. Conclusion
I conclude that Complainant has failed to prove that the Domain Name
is identical or confusingly similar to a mark in which it has prior rights.
Therefore, its request for transfer of the <backgroundfacts.com> Domain
Name is denied.
Mark V B Partridge
Sole Panelist
Dated: April 3, 2001
Hon. Sir Ian Barker QC
Sole Panelist
Dated: August 3, 2001
|