|
PARTIES
The Complainant is Business Architecture Group, Inc. d/b/a BAG, Flower
Mound, TX, USA (“Complainant”). The Respondent is Reflex Publishing,
Brandon, FL, USA (“Respondent”) represented by Ari Goldberger, of ESQwire.com
Law Firm.
REGISTRAR AND DISPUTED DOMAIN NAME
The domain name at issue is "bag.com," registered with TUCOWS, Inc.
PANEL
The undersigned certify that they have acted independently and impartially
and to the best of their knowledge, have no known conflict in serving as
Panelists in this proceeding.
Bruce E. Meyerson, Carolyn Marks Johnson and Diane Cabell as Panelists.
PROCEDURAL HISTORY
Complainant submitted a Complaint to the National Arbitration Forum
(“the Forum”) electronically on April 10, 2001; the Forum received a hard
copy of the Complaint on April 16, 2001.
On April 11, 2001, TUCOWS, Inc. confirmed by e-mail to the Forum that
the domain name "bag.com" is registered with TUCOWS, Inc. and that the
Respondent is the current registrant of the name. TUCOWS, Inc. has
verified that Respondent is bound by the TUCOWS, Inc. registration agreement
and has thereby agreed to resolve domain-name disputes brought by third
parties in accordance with ICANN’s Rules for Uniform Domain Name Dispute
Resolution Policy.
On April 18, 2001, a Notification of Complaint and Commencement of Administrative
Proceeding (the “Commencement Notification”), setting a deadline of May
8, 2001 by which Respondent could file a Response to the Complaint, was
transmitted to Respondent via e-mail, post and fax, to all entities and
persons listed on Respondent’s registration as technical, administrative
and billing contacts, and to postmaster@bag.com by e-mail.
A timely response was received and determined to be complete on May
8, 2001.
On May 22, 2001, pursuant to Complainant’s request to have the dispute
decided by a three-member Panel, the Forum appointed Bruce E. Meyerson,
Carolyn Marks Johnson and Diane Cabell as Panelists.
RELIEF SOUGHT
The Complainant requests that the domain name be transferred from the
Respondent to the Complainant.
PARTIES’ CONTENTIONS
Complainant
Complainant was founded in 1996 as a management consulting organization
serving clients in the financial services and telecommunications industries.
Complainant has registered several domain names such as BAG-works.com,
BAGonline.com and BAGinc.net. It complains, however, that its market
penetration has been restricted because it has not been able to use the
domain name "BAG.com" which has been registered by Respondent. According
to Complainant, Respondent, an Internet publishing company, uses "BAG.com"
as a link to a "goto" website and itself makes no offer of goods and services
related to bags.
Respondent
Respondent registered the disputed domain name in July 1997 and subsequently
began to use "BAG.com" in association with the Internet company Goto.com.
Users who type "BAG.com" are taken to a Goto search results page that has
links to web sites related to bags. Advertisers pay Goto a fee for
the opportunity to have their sites appear on the search results page,
and Respondent is paid a share of the advertising revenues earned by Goto
for users who click links after arriving at the search results page by
having typed "BAG.com" in their browser. Respondent contends that
because it began using the domain name four years before Complaint filed
a trademark application, the domain name is not identical or confusingly
similar to a trademark of Complainant. Respondent contends that its
use of the domain name is legitimate and that Complainant has failed to
show that Respondent registered the mark in bad faith. A claim of
reverse domain name hijacking is also made.
FINDINGS
On February 13, 2001, Complaint filed an application with the United
States Patent and Trademark Organization (the "PTO") for its mark "BAG
Business Architecture Group, Inc." Respondent registered the
disputed domain name in 1997. Complainant has not established a necessary
trademark right in the domain name because the domain name was registered
four years before the Complainant applied for its trademark. Complainant
has not demonstrated a secondary meaning to the word "BAG" such that consumers
would be likely to associate the domain name only with Complainant.
DISCUSSION
Paragraph 15(a) of the Rules for Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution
Policy (the “Rules”) instructs this Panel to “decide a complaint on the
basis of the statements and documents submitted in accordance with the
Policy, these Rules and any rules and principles of law that it deems applicable.”
Paragraph 4(a) of the Rules requires that the Complainant must prove
each of the following three elements to obtain an order that a domain name
should be cancelled or transferred:
the domain name registered by the Respondent is identical or confusingly
similar to a trademark or service mark in which the Complainant has rights;
the Respondent has no rights or legitimate interests in respect of the
domain name; and
(3) the domain name has been registered and is being used in bad faith.
Identical and/or Confusingly Similar
Because we find that Complainant has failed to establish that the domain
name is identical or confusingly similar to a trademark or service mark
in which the Complainant has rights, it is unnecessary for the Panel to
consider where the Complainant has proved a violation of Rules 4(a)(2)
and (3).
A complaining party can establish that it has rights in a trademark
or service mark by establishing that an entity such as the PTO has approved
its mark, or, alternatively, that it has established rights as a common
law mark. Ordinarily, to satisfy the requirements of Rule 4(a)(1),
the complaining party must have trademark rights before the domain name
in dispute was registered. Ode v. Intership Ltd., D2001-0074 (WIPO
May 1, 2001) (under ICANN rules, a trademark must predate the domain name).
On the record before us, the Complainant has demonstrated neither registered
nor common law rights that predate the Respondent’s domain registration.
On February 13, 2001, Complainant filed an application with the PTO
for its mark "BAG Business Architecture Group, Inc." The PTO has
not yet approved this application, therefore no registered trademark right
has been established via registration. See Warnervision Entertainment
Inc. v. Empire of Carolina Inc., 919 F. Supp. 717 (S.D.N.Y. 1996) (trademark
rights do not accrue to a pending application).
Moreover, Complainant has not adequately demonstrated common law mark
rights that predate Respondent’s registration of the domain in 1997.
To establish common law rights, the Complainant must show that the mark
has acquired distinctiveness when associated with the Complainant’s goods
or services. No evidence was supplied to indicate that Complainant
had established such distinctiveness prior to Respondent’s domain registration.
Complainant simply alleged that it has been “known by” the acronym "B.A.G."
since 1996. This allegation merely supports a finding that the term
was used as a tradename, but not that is was used as a trademark.
Marbil Co. Inc. v. Sangjun Choi, D2000-1275 (WIPO Nov. 23, 2000); Kendall
v. Mayer Re skipkendall.com, D2000-0868 (WIPO Oct. 26, 2000).
Respondent alleges that this Complaint should be categorized as reverse
domain name hijacking under Rule 15(e). However, where the Complaint
appears to have been drafted pro se, and without a clear understanding
of trademark principles on its face, we find insufficient evidence to conclude
that the Complainant brought this action in bad faith.
DECISION
The request to transfer the domain name to the Complainant is denied.
Panel Chair
Carolyn Marks Johnson, Diane Cabell
Dated: June 5, 2001
Hon. Sir Ian Barker QC
Sole Panelist
Dated: August 3, 2001
|